Thursday, December 11, 2008

Meeting of Alaska's Electoral College

Along with the rest of the nation, Alaska's electors will meet on Monday, December 15 and cast their electoral votes.

In Alaska, political parties select their electors and submit the names to the Division of Elections. Alaska’s electors are Roy Burkhart, Hope Nelson and Robert Brodie. The electors represent the political party of the Presidential candidate who won the popular vote in Alaska. For 2008 that is the Alaska Republican Party. Under state law each elector must pledge that he or she will cast their electoral vote for the candidate of the party.

Presiding at the meeting of the Alaska electors will be Lieutenant Governor Sean Parnell.

Meeting of Alaska's Electoral College
A Gavel to Gavel Alaska Special

Monday, December 15
8:00 pm

No comments: